Home

by jordanfaeh

Last January, I drove out of Lincoln with a full car and a sad heart.

I didn’t want to leave what had become home. I accepted the fact that God wanted us elsewhere and I tried to keep a grateful attitude. Our time in Omaha has been harder than we could have imagined, but at the same time it has been so blessed. We welcomed a new baby into our family and Truman gained experience through work that led him to a new job that I believe he will be great at. There were so many tears on my end, and so much stress on his end (taking care of three girls is so stressful and I don’t give him enough credit sometimes). We had no family close to watch our kids when we needed a break, and we knew a handful of people in the entire city. BUT. Our church family became incredibly important to us. We were so blessed by their encouragement, their wisdom, and their friendship. I learned what it looks like to be a good friend (something I’ve always struggled with). They made our painful move to Omaha more bearable and I’m forever grateful for that.

Though we have learned how to be content (most of the time) in a city that doesn’t feel like home, we’ve always had the goal of raising our family in Lincoln. It’s home to us. An opportunity came out of the blue where we could rent our previous duplex in the neighborhood that we grew to love. We felt it was an answered prayer. And I am so, so, so excited to announce that the Faeh family will officially become Lincolnites (again) on June 1!

It’s bittersweet, really. I’m not sad at all to leave Omaha, but I’m very sad to be leaving a community of gals that mean so much to me. Because we only have a little over a month before the big move, I’m making a list of things I’d like to do as a family. There were parts of Omaha that we really enjoyed. The riverwalk was one of them.

river5Not a bad nursing view!

river1

Uncle Jamison and Aunt Kal came with us!

river2We fed the ducks, but Penny was only interested in eating the bread…

river3river4

Yesterday was a great day. It felt like summer and made me so excited for many more days like this. I’m looking forward to spending the next month enjoying the things we have enjoyed in Omaha. Penny is such an outdoors gal and she was in heaven yesterday. She passed out on our way downtown and we couldn’t help but have a little fun 🙂

river6

I hope you’re ready for this crazy fam of ours, Lincoln!

J.

