American Blogger

by jordanfaeh

Image

I’m going to be honest. I have a sour attitude this morning. I’m supposed to be on my way to Colorado for an IKEA trip, but due to car problems (yet again), the only thing on my to-do list today is to unpack my bags. In order to get my mind off of the disappointment, I downloaded a documentary I’ve been wanting to watch called “American Blogger”. It has inspired me like crazy. I also had to write a quote from Ann Voskamp on the chalkboard to prevent me from having a tantrum that would put Penny’s to shame.

ANYWAY.

I’ve shared recently about my desire to start a lifestyle blog about our family returning to the city that we love. Truth is, I’ve been wanting to have a blog like this since before Truman and I were married but I am completely clueless when it comes to photography, photoshop, websites, etc. But I’ve noticed over the the past few years as I’ve become a mama that I miss certain passions that were in my life before motherhood came into play. I love to create. I love to style. I love to capture special moments. And as you may have observed, I LOVE to share them. We live in a day and age where sharing your life is very common, but I’ve also noticed that there is this silent shame about sharing too much or about capturing moments. This is what has kept me from pursuing my dream of a blog. I frequently feel guilty for grabbing my phone to snap a photo of Penny dancing her heart out or June cooing and smiling. I love that I have so many moments to look back on and I feel so blessed with the life that I’ve been given (even though according to society’s standards it’s nothing glamorous) that I can’t help but share it with others! This documentary was such a powerful boost to the way I feel and the goal I have in starting a blog.

Image

American Blogger is a documentary about the lives of many current bloggers. It allows us to look inside the life of a blogger and the beauty of sharing the human experience with others. It was heartwarming and educational. I’m thankful to live in a time where we have the opportunity to share our passions, indulge our creativity, and capture our graces. It’s going to take a while to get things started, but I am ready to venture into the blogging world and I’m letting go of the fears I hold. I highly recommend the documentary. It’s $10 which, I know, is a bit much for a film but I felt it was $10 very well spent.

