Saturday in the Park

by jordanfaeh

Image

Dear Omaha, I feel like I should apologize. I haven’t been very nice to you. I’ve spoken harshly of you. I’ve wanted nothing from you but to see you in the rear view mirror of my car. However, there are some great things about you and I feel like I should recognize that. Besides the fact that you host some incredible human beings, you have a wonderful park. My favorite, perhaps. Our family has made great memories at Memorial park and we are spending as much time there as we can before we move.

Image

The trees are beautiful this time of year. Truman was right when he said Nebraska only gets about ten days a year like yesterday. Comfortable temperature and NO wind. It was a perfect day and we soaked it up on a blanket under a tree. Well, kind of. It didn’t occur to me that going to the park with a toddler would be less relaxing. We spent half the time chasing Penny around. I can’t blame the girl. She just wanted to explore all of the open space…and being the social butterfly that she is, she felt the need to say “hi” to everyone else at the park. Even the couple near us that was making out… I pointed them out to Truman like I had seen a UFO. He told me I needed to get out more. So true.

The pictures below are of Penny…running away every chance she got. Love her sense of adventure.

ImageImage

We needed a day to just relax. I snapped a few photos, of course, but I made a point to put away the camera and just be. Taking in the peace and quiet, the soft breeze, the sunshine, the vibrant trees. It was the perfect setting to nurse June and I did…without a cover! *high five to myself*

ImageImage

One of my favorite things about having a toddler is that I get to see the world through her eyes. Everything is new and interesting to her. Even the little things that I frequently miss. We become numb to the miraculous beauty of God’s creation. We don’t hear the rushing sound of a car speeding by (that sends Penny in an absolute state of wonder) or the craziness of a plane flying in the sky. She rolls around in the grass with freedom. Not worrying about bugs or wet spots or getting dirty. Nature is her playground. Her wonder is unlimited. I strive to be more like her in that way.

Image

It was a great day in the park with my family. I’m excited for many more this year.

Image

