Saturday With Pen

by jordanfaeh

Image

// Hat (Gap) Top (Carter’s) Leggings (Target) Moccasins (Minnetonka) //

Image

Image

We took a stroll this afternoon. She got older overnight again. I hate when that happens.

Lately everything she does is shockingly adorable and grown-up. Whether she’s reading about “my No-ah” in her Bible or very carefully lining up her babies (and Elmo) for tummy time, she’s turning into a little person and I love every minute of it. Oh, and I sneezed the other day and she very casually said “bleh you.” I about peed my pants from laughing. Her adventurous and independent spirit leaves me feeling like she’ll be 18 tomorrow and leaving the nest, but today that wasn’t the case. I watched the tears well up in her eyes as the mailman pulled up to our driveway. She was terrified and looked at me in a state of panic. Instead of crying out loud like you would expect a toddler to do, she quickly asked if we could go “bye-bye” over and over and reached for me, needing a sense of security. I took her inside and squeezed her tight until she felt safe again. I cried , seeing her so full of fear. It’s true that a parent would do anything to take that away.

She demanded that I hold her hand for the rest of our walk and I didn’t protest one bit. There is a genuine joy in knowing that you make your child feel safe. I hope she always feels that with me. We picked dandelions and quietly enjoyed the spring air. I saw a softer side of Penny Emerson today. She surprises me like that.

Image

Image

