Lincoln // Jazz in June

by jordanfaeh

Image

Last night was the perfect example of why I love this town.

The whole community gathers together to listen to jazz music and sprawl out on the lawn. You can’t walk a few steps without seeing someone you know. I say it over and over again and I promise I’ll eventually stop, but Lincoln is the best of both worlds. It’s small enough to where you frequently run into familiar faces and it’s large enough to host incredible events like this one. I get weirdly giddy about it.

Image

Image

It was a beautiful night. We spent a little time on top of a parking garage taking it all in. I feel so fortunate to have passion about the place I call home. I have a long list of things I want to do this summer and it was fun to cross this one off the list.

Image

Image

I feel so thankful to finally feel like we are where we belong. Sure, Penny’s frequent meltdowns and Truman’s long hours last week made for a rocky start, but I continued to remind myself how blessed we are. We weren’t supposed to be in Lincoln this summer. I had prepared myself for a different, slightly lonelier summer in Omaha. So every encounter with a familiar face, every impromptu gathering with a friend, every drop-in from family, every casual walk through the bike trails of Lincoln…I’m soaking it all in. Feeling contentment from the most simple things. Exactly how it should be.

Cheers, Jord.

