Lincoln // Stransky Summer Concert Series

by jordanfaeh

Before I was pregnant with Penny and it was just Truman and I in our humble, little duplex, I would be up early every morning frosting cupcakes for work. We eventually sold one of our cars and I would drop Truman off at work every morning with KZUM on the radio. I anticipated Monday mornings when my favorite program was on, “Dance Bands: When Melody Was King.” Those two hours were the highlight of my day and I always dreaded when 10am came around and it was over.

KZUM (89.3) is one of my favorite things about Lincoln. I pair it with so many good memories from our life here and I’m excited to have it so easily accessible again. They are hosting a wonderful concert series at Stransky Park. I hadn’t been there until last night and it’s this charming park located in a lovely neighborhood. I was mostly excited because it was big band night. The cool summer breeze, the fresh smell of the park’s fountain, the setting sun, great company, and the sound of classic tunes made me so happy I almost couldn’t stand it.

Image

Image

Image

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been drawn to that era. I used to roam through antique stores in Grand Island and feel so comforted by the sounds of Glenn Miller ringing through the air. I love it most when couples who have been married for years and years will dance together to their favorite songs like it was yesterday. I joked with my friend at what that will look like when we’re older. Will we be grinding to Jay-z when we’re 70 years old? Lord, I hope not.

Image

Image

Image

The other key to having a great night is having great company. We love these people and I can’t express how happy I am to see their faces more often.

bb8We tried to get Penny and Judah to dance together, but Penny was playing hard to get. Sorry, bud.

bb4 bb7I’m looking forward to the upcoming Stransky concerts (hello, bluegrass night!!!). If you’re in Lincoln, keep your Thursday nights free and try it out. You won’t regret it!

Cheers, Jord.

