Sundays

by jordanfaeh

I’m REALLY bad at Sundays.

I always have lofty dreams of Sunday being this wonderful day filled with worship, yummy breakfast, and family time. All at a slow pace with no attention on the clock. However, Sunday always rolls around and the kitchen is dirty, the cupboards are almost bare, the laundry piles put Mt. Everest to shame, and we’re scrambling to get to church on time. I’m on edge trying to prepare for the week. Meal plan, grocery list, tidy house, get overwhelmed by my long to-do list, and maybe even snap at my husband. It’s enough to make him probably want to slip me a very strong sleeping pill.

I don’t like that it’s hard for me to slow down. Scratch that- I CAN slow down but it’s usually only if everything is neat and tidy. It shouldn’t be that way. Because with a growing family, the kitchen is constantly messy, the clothes are always being dirtied, and the lingering grocery trip is always there. I must learn to stop and relax for my sanity and my family’s.

God knew this so He decided to do something about it.

On Saturday night, our car broke down leaving us “stranded” at home on Sunday. We couldn’t get to church so we woke up slowly. We live in an awesome location that allows us to walk to a few places to eat so we packed up the stroller and walked to one of our favorite local diners for lunch- The Eatery.

Image

It was truly a great day. One of my favorites so far this Summer. Everyone was in a great mood, the weather was beautiful, and there weren’t any pressing things I needed to tend to (because I couldn’t).

Image

Image

Image

We took our time. Penny giggled with her favorite waitress walking by. We enjoyed the chatter of everyone around us accompanied by classics like The Temptations and The Beach Boys. I finally got a taste of what Sunday should be (minus being at church- we were really sad about that).

Image

Penny has now graduated from a “snuffy face” to a “teenager face.” I ask her to give me her “teenager face” and this is what she gives me. I’m sure I’ll be seeing this a lot when we reach those wonderful years!

Image

We leisurely walked home and I watched June drift to sleep under the shadows of trees. I hope to enjoy more Sundays like this. Less stress, more fun. It’s cheesy, but life really is too short. The list can wait.

Cheers, Jord.

