Kansas City

by jordanfaeh

kc1

I can’t even remember the last time I had a whole day (let alone two) to myself where I didn’t have to wake up early, feed another person, wipe a bottom, or tend to the laundry pile that never ends. I was blessed the second time around to be able to nurse June way longer than I thought my body would allow, but that also meant she wouldn’t take a bottle and was attached to me every two-three hours the first 6 months of her life. We shared some really special moments, but I was ready for a little break and to have my body back. When Truman found out he had to be in Kansas City for work, he invited me along. After a couple weekends of persistence, June was taking a bottle and I was able to go. It was the best weekend I’ve had in a long time.

I wanted to be very intentional about this trip. Of course there was a little shopping I wanted to squeeze in, but I mostly wanted to indulge in a slower pace of life for a few days by exploring local places and getting lost in a new book. And I did just that. (I’m posting a book review in the near future so stay tuned!) Truman was away working most of the time so I took advantage of a quiet hotel room and slept in until 9. It was heavenly and I almost couldn’t comprehend feeling that well rested. I did a little research on local coffee shops and found a cute place called The Filling Station. I sat there for an hour or so slowly sipping on my latte and occasionally looking up to watch out the window. When you’re constantly on the go with kiddos, you start to appreciate the REALLY little things like being able to drink your latte in a coffee mug rather than having to get it to go. I thoroughly enjoyed my morning–the Bob Dylan music playing in the background probably helped.

I popped in to H&M to look around and, of course, I ended up in the children’s section buying a few fall pieces for my girls. πŸ™‚ A friend of my sister’s suggested a little cafe called Little Freshie and since I had more time on my hands than I knew what to do with I decided to give it a shot. Holy yum.

kc4

kc2

It was located in the art district (I think) of Kansas City and I had to park in one of the neighborhoods close by. I casually walked through the street trying to take in every individual house (without looking creepy). It was the kind of neighborhood I could see myself living in–full of color and pots of plants everywhere. The menu at Little Freshie was small and I was hesitant because I’m not very adventurous when it comes to food BUT the book I was reading is all about slowing down and enjoying food so I decided to push myself a little. I got a raspberry-rose italian soda and an avocado and tomato sandwich. So delicious. I sat in front and took my time. Once again, I can’t remember how long it has been since I’ve eaten a meal in an hour and a half. Most of the time we are shoving our faces quickly in hopes of avoiding a meltdown in public. I prefer the former. I went slow, taking a bite in between pages of my book and delighting in the flavor and textures. I think this was the moment I fell in love with Kansas City.

kc3

I treated myself to a super comfy tee at Madewell (because that’s all I could afford, ha!). I love browsing through their sale rack and checking out their new fall pieces. I think if you combined Madewell and Free People it would be the perfect description of my style. I definitely left feeling inspired for fall fashion (but not fall weather…).

kc5

On our way out of town we decided to walk around the Power & Light district and grab a bite to eat. It was fun to re-connect and feel like a married couple again. As much as we love parenthood and having a family, we’ve both felt like we were just trying to survive each day the past 6 months. We talked about what it looked like to live with more intention, to make more time for each other, and what the future could possibly hold for our family (knowing very well that plans for the future change quickly). I love him. And he works his tail off. And he looks sexy in business clothes. πŸ™‚

kc6

This quick trip was the deep breath that I needed. Every mom/couple should be required to take a weekend retreat (or longer) at least every 6 months. It is SO necessary to quiet yourself and assess where you are and where your family is. As much as I loved being responsibility-free for a couple days, I was so excited to get back home to the girls. My family is where my heart is and I am able to appreciate them so much more once I return. I’ll be back Kansas City.

Happy Monday to you,

Jord.

P.S. You know how certain songs remind you of exact experiences/seasons of your life? Well, I was obsessed with a couple on our trip and I will forever remember my weekend away when I hear these. Hope you enjoy…

