Cable Knits & Jazz

by jordanfaeh

datenight1   

datenight4

// Sweater (Gap–similar) Jeans (H&M) Boots (AE–similar, and cuter in my opinion!) //

There was a legitimate chill in the air today.

Though it’s technically still Summer, it always feels like I officially make the switch when I bring the cable knit out. My sister and brother-in-law were kind enough to watch the girls so Truman and I could sneak away for a little date. When we lived in Omaha, a friend and I used to go listen to big band music from the 40’s and watch older couples dance all night. It’s one of my favorite memories and I miss hearing live jazz. When I researched where I could find that in Lincoln I found Capital Jazz Society.

Truman and I were really impressed. It’s an informal gathering of local musicians (some UNL professors, students) who play music together on the spot. It was a cozy and welcoming setting and some live music what the boost I needed to make it through the week. I was slightly sad that this wasn’t the same as my experience in Omaha. They weren’t playing old tunes and there wasn’t any dancing. However, there were a few older couples there enjoying the music together. I don’t know why I love that so much. Most people my age enjoy having a good time at a bar or club. I enjoy watching older couples love each other, dance together, and share a common love for music. I’m weird.

photo(312)

datenight3

There’s nothing new or fancy about this outfit. It’s simple, but timeless, in my opinion. Don’t get me wrong–I love wild and adventurous outfits, but I like to keep a few simple pieces around that I’ll never get sick of and I’ll always feel classy in. These boots are my “date boots.” I would never wear heels when my children are with me. Have you met Penny? The thought of me trying to chase after her in a chunky heel is both hilarious and terrifying.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, but I often feel uninspired with my own closet. The decision to stay at home means living on a tighter budget and having less “fun money” to spend on new styles. It gets frustrating for someone like me who really enjoys putting outfits together and it’s a constant battle not to compare myself to those amazing bloggers who have (what seems like) limitless budgets and constantly up-to-date wardrobes. But not only is it a great reminder that clothes are not as important as I sometimes make them to be, but I’m learning how to be creative with what I have and when I shop I look for pieces that can be worn multiple ways so I can get the best bang for my buck. Either way, it was fun to take the ol’ sweater out for a spin. I’m not ready for this cool, cloudy weather to be permanent, but I can handle it for a day. Now bring me back my sun.

Congratulations! You made it through Wednesday. I’m especially excited because come Saturday, I have a date with three of my best girlfriends, a minivan, and IKEA. More on that later.

Cheers!

 

