Penny Turns Two

by jordanfaeh

birthday1

We celebrated Penny’s second birthday this weekend with friends and family. I wanted to keep things simple and I felt that I needed to weave her beloved Elmo into the decor. She will only watch Elmo’s World so I tried to recreate it with a little style πŸ™‚

birthday2

birthday6

We started Penny’s birthday out with doughnuts, of course. I don’t even want to think about the amount of sugar she consumed over the weekend.

birthday10

She spent the morning watching an endless amount of Elmo’s World and then my mom and I took her to get her first pedicure. I was hesitant to do it, knowing she won’t actually remember it and fearing she would think she was at the doctor’s office and freak out, but she did a great job and ended up really enjoying it (there were a few touchy moments when she wondered why in the heck a stranger was massaging her feet, but she is my daughter so she’s destined to enjoy a good pampering).

birthday13

birthday8

We packed the house full of loved ones on Sunday to have cake and watch the madness ensue. I have accepted that children’s birthday parties aren’t composed or quiet. And that’s okay. (Please note the ADORABLE pigtails that my sister did. It made me all sorts of emotional).

birthday4

I couldn’t even fathom how great life would become when Penny entered our lives. I remember pacing the hallway the day I found out I was pregnant, partially terrified but mostly THRILLED that my “journey” as a mother was beginning. She has challenged me in so many ways. She is feisty, strong willed, independent (or she tries to be, at least), and adventurous. She is passionate and has so much emotion for a tiny, little body. It makes for a lot of confusing meltdowns, but I know one day she is going to do great things. Some of the most joyful moments are the small ones shared with her. Our routine Eskimo and butterfly kisses before bed, the way she runs up to me and demands “gimme a kiss”, the huge grin that takes over her face when she’s excited. I have no idea where she picked it up, but she recently started calling me “mom” like a teenager trapped inside of a two-year-old’s body. “What are you doing, mom? Hey mom, where are you?! Thanks for helping, mom!” She is the perfect fit for our family, adding just the right amount of sweet and spice. I pray with a fierce desire that above anything she will fall in love with Jesus and want to live a life that is glorifying to him. He created a very special girl and I am forever thankful that He entrusted her to us.

birthday7

Happy Birthday, dolly. I love you more than you’ll ever know.

Mama.

P.S. Because I like to try and keep things real around here, I feel a birthday post wouldn’t be complete without a picture of a meltdown. It is a toddler party, after all. Opening presents for two-year-olds is a tough gig πŸ˜‰

birthday5

