Christmas Decor

by jordanfaeh

        christmasdecor2

I’ve had a few people ask for different tutorials on some of my Christmas decorations so I thought I would share here!

But I feel like this needs to be said first… I love scrolling through my favorite blogs to look for inspiration, but sometimes I find myself discontent or panicking that I haven’t done enough. The internet is a great space for encouraging creativity, but it’s also REALLY easy to turn something good into something that makes you feel terrible. I don’t want this blog to make you feel terrible. I don’t want you to walk away feeling like you need to do more. Decorating for Christmas is such a fun thing, but we all know that it’s not the pretty things that make this holiday special. So even if you hang a tiny piece of tinsel on the ceiling fan and call it “good” you can still have a beautiful Christmas. Jesus still became flesh for you. God still loved you enough to send His only son. That’s all you need 🙂

OKAY. Rant over.

christmasdecor11

I tried to be intentional about Christmas decor this year. I want to create things that I can continue to use throughout the years. I loved this wreath from Anthropologie, but certainly wasn’t going to fork over $140 for it. I browsed through a few tutorials online and made my own for about $30. It was a little more time consuming than I anticipated, but I still feel it was worth saving over $100. Have a Christmas movie marathon and craft away! I used this tutorial.

christmadecor3

// gold vase (target) bottle brush tree (michaels) //

christmasdecor4

I dug up some feathers and pine cones that I had in the basement and added a little glitter. The mason jars are filled with epsom salts to look like snow 🙂

christmasdecor5

christmasdecor10

I used this tutorial to make the geometric himmeli ornaments.

christmasdecor8

And, of course, I had to sport some Lincoln love! This adorable ceramic ornament is made here in Nebraska by EARTHENjoy.

christmasdecor9

The stockings were originally hung on the mantel and that lasted about two seconds before a certain toddler decided to pull them down. I found them at Target and hung an old dream catcher I made.

christmasdecor6

Back in August, I bought this deer head from Hobby Lobby (originally gold) knowing that I wanted to use it for Christmas decor. A little spray paint and an air plant earring looks good on him, I think! I made the pom pom garland out of extra, cheap yarn I had laying around. I used this same tutorial for making the pom poms but tied them to a braided string instead. (I learned the hard way that if you don’t braid the base it will break.)

christmasdecor7

And last but not least a little miniature tree for the girls. Complete with handmade ornaments by local artisan Simply Printed.

I’ve also had a few people asking about Penny’s teepee. You can find the tutorial here!

I can honestly say that this is the first time I haven’t stressed about decorating my home for the holidays. It’s not extravagant. I didn’t do everything I was hoping to. But that’s okay. Have grace with yourself this season.

Cheers!

Jord.

