Homemade Granola Bars

by jordanfaeh

homemade granola bars

homemade granola bars2When I first got married, I had *hilarious* ideas that I was going to be super-woman-homemaker-wife and make all of our bread and condiments from scratch. Because, all the best wives would never feed their family that store-bought poison, right?! Natural homemaking blogs were my crack and I created a Pinterest board of what I thought the perfect homemaker should be. Well, life happened and that silly little Pinterest board went untouched and then babies came and I was tired and honestly didn’t really care that much whether we used Heinz ketchup or homemade fancy-paste with the tomatoes from my backyard (grown organically, of course). A loaf of Sara Lee sits on our shelf, my toddler eats snacks from a box (gasp!!), and we buy all of our condiments from the grocery store.

I only make jokes about this because I don’t want to post a recipe for homemade granola bars making some mom feel lousy for having a stash of Fiber One (or whatever other brand name) in the cupboard. If you have convictions about ingredients in store bought foods and want to put extra time into making everything yourself, great. If you really don’t care or have the energy to do that sort of thing, that’s great too. It really doesn’t matter in the big scheme of things.

We eat a lot of granola bars in the house. The first thing that comes out of my toddler’s mouth every morning is “I need a cereal bar!” I wanted to find a staple recipe that was easy and somewhat healthy and could maybe save me a little money on the grocery bill.  But whenever I tried to make homemade granola bars, I felt that the taste and effort put into them wasn’t worth it.

But these. These yummy treats are what I’ve been looking for!

A friend of mine recommended this recipe for Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars and I tweaked it just a little bit. Instead of using sliced almonds, I used sesame seeds and I found that it was only necessary to keep them in the fridge for about 30-45 minutes before cutting. I LOVE the crunchy, but chewy texture. They were super easy to make and in my opinion they are worth foregoing the convenience of store bought. I made these on a rainy day and the girls and I enjoyed them while snuggling on the couch watching The Wizard of Oz (because I’m a sucker for $5 movies at Target). Hope you enjoy!

homemade granola bars3

