Cabin Fever

by jordanfaeh

cabinfever3Is it just me, or does time stand still at the last week of January?

The excitement of the holiday season is over and it feels like spring should be getting closer, right? This is the time of year where I really start to feel it. I’ve got the fever. The cabin fever. I’m ready for spring dresses and afternoons at the park and sunshine that lasts past dinner. It will come, this I know. The blessing of living in the Midwest where we experience real seasons is that we never take the warm weather for granted. The cold weather that literally hurts our faces makes the warm days that much sweeter.

cabinfever4

cabinfever1

(^^^ is this the face of a two year old or what?! all attitude, that June-bug)

In a season that feels dark and dry, I cling to little moments of joy to keep me going. The way the sun blankets our living room right before dinner time, the bubbling sounds of my favorite soup on the stove, music playing softly through the house in the morning while I tidy up, my warm feet in front of the space heater while I feed Maggie in the early hours of the morning. It takes a lot more effort for me to find beauty right now, but it’s there and I’m doing my best to slow down enough to enjoy it.

cabinfever5

cabinfever2

I love what Charles Spurgeon has to say about winter (translated by Alistair Begg)…

“My soul, begin this wintry month with God. The cold snows and the piercing winds all remind you that He keeps His covenant day and night. Winter in the soul is by no means a comfortable season, and if it is upon you just now, it will be very painful to you: but there is comfort, namely, that the Lord makes it. He sends sharp blasts of adversity to nip the buds of expectation. He scatters the frozen dew like ashes over the once fresh green meadows of our joy. He is the great Winter King and rules in the realms of frost and therefore you cannot murmur. Losses, crosses, heaviness, sickness, poverty, and a thousand other ills are of the Lord’s sending and come to us with wise design. How we prize the fire just now! Let us in the same manner prize our Lord, who is the constant source of warmth and comfort in every time of trouble. Let us wrap ourselves in warm garments of His promises, and keep working, unlike the lazy man who refuses to plow because it is too cold; in the summer he will have nothing and will be forced to beg for bread.”

I’m encouraged by the fact that the sun is setting a little later each day and we’re even expected to reach a whopping 50 degrees at the end of the week! The greatest way for me to combat my winter blues is to crank up my favorite tunes, put the kettle on the stove, and spend a little extra time caring for our home. I tweaked my cabin fever playlist on Spotify so have a listen if you need a little pick me up!

Cabin Fever / Winter Sux

We celebrated Miss Juniper’s second birthday last weekend and I made a yummy vanilla bean bundt cake. Someone on Instagram requested I share the recipe so here ya go!

cabinfever7

I used the recipe from here and here and tweaked them a little.

For the cake:

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, softened

2 eggs, room temp

3/4 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla

1 vanilla bean

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

For the frosting:

2 cups of powdered sugar

4 ounces cream cheese

1 tsp vanilla extract

2-3 tsp milk

2 drops of red food coloring

  1. preheat oven to 350 degrees, grease bundt pan
  2. beat granulated sugar, butter, and eggs in stand mixer at medium speed until well blended. add milk and vanilla and mix well. add flour, baking powder and salt; beat until smooth.
  3. pour into pan and bake about 30 minutes. (I had to bake for about 45 because my oven is weird).
  4. to make the frosting, mix all of the ingredients together in the mixer until smooth. i added two drops of red food coloring to make the frosting pink and then topped with sprinkles.

How do you combat winter blues? I wanna know!

J.

