Father’s Day Weekend

by jordanfaeh

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

Our Father’s Day Weekend was slow and quiet. I’ll admit, because I stay at home with the girls and our weekdays can be long and mundane sometimes, when Friday hits I’m like a puppy scratching to get out of its cage and I want to do all. the. things! I have a long summer “bucket-list” but that list was put aside this weekend and we spent time enjoying a slower pace at home. Our garden was being taken hostage by weeds with super-powers so I spent the afternoon caring for our ever-growing veggies (and mourning the loss of my spinach that most likely was taken by the cute little bunny that’s been hanging around our house).

Processed with VSCO with j5 preset

Normally on the weekends I try to spend as little amount of time in the kitchen as possible, but I was signed up to take a meal to a friend recovering from surgery and it was surprisingly a nice change of pace. It was a good chance to get acquainted with the new album that I won’t shut up about and spend some one on one time with Penny, who helped me bake a lemon bundt cake. Truman came into the kitchen at one point and noticed the large mess of dirty dishes and said “geez, I feel like I’ve washed the dishes a million times today.” WELCOME TO MY LIFE.

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

I was strictly told “no gifts” for Father’s Day, but I wanted to still make the day special so we took daddy to our favorite little spot on Sunday morning to enjoy the warm air before it became unbearable. We packed our library books, some snacks, and the girls’ princess accessories and we watched them prance around through the trees pretending to be fairies. It took a little arm-twisting, but I tried to get a few decent photos of the girls and their daddy. Naturally, the girls didn’t want to cooperate, but it was still a special morning.

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

You all know by now that I’m a firm believer that good music just makes everything better. So I pulled out one of my favorite playlists to add the perfect touch to our morning. It’s a compilation of some of my favorite instrumental songs (many of them from my favorite films). I’m far from the heroin, Elizabeth Bennet, but that doesn’t mean I can’t pretend to be her every once in a while 😉 You can find the playlist here.

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

Though our weekend was a quiet one, it was full of joy. I may be starting the week off with a head cold and messy house, but my spirit is resting in this place of gratitude. Grateful to be a mommy to three girls, grateful to live in a place that we love, grateful for new insights into God’s character and grace, and grateful for a husband who has always put his family first and who loves his daughters with a Christ-like, steadfast love. I know the realities of this world are that there are many fathers who don’t live up to what they should be and my heart truly breaks for that. I also know that there are many fathers who are no longer on this side of heaven which makes Father’s Day a painful one. Know that we mourn with you and we’re very sorry.

I can hardly believe that we’re nearing the end of June. I hope that your week is full of joy and that you’re able to indulge in the joy of summer.

Processed with VSCO with a10 preset

