Current Favorites

by jordanfaeh

One of my favorite things to read on other blogs is what people are currently loving. It’s so fun to read about what others are drawn to and sometimes I end up finding a new favorite for myself. I have a lot of current favorites right now and just wanted to pass them along in case you’re needing inspiration (or maybe even a few gift ideas)!

Favorite Small Business: Rose Henges

img_0947

I try to be really intentional about spending my money through small businesses first. I came across this KC-based artist a while ago and when I saw this print for Christmas I knew it could be something I use every year. You can find all of her artwork here.

Currently : Listening

I love listening to podcasts while I’m doing housework. It’s a great way to distract myself during my not-so-fun chores and I feel more productive than if I were to just put a TV show on. I’ve been a big fan of Revive Our Hearts radio for many years. Nancy DeMoss Wolgemuth is a very gifted teacher. She has a series out right now that walks you through the meanings of many classic Christmas carols. There are so many phrases that I’ve sung since a child and had no idea what they meant. It’s fun to have a bit more knowledge about the carols we sing. You can find that series here.

Another great podcast that is a little more lighthearted is Happy Hour with Jamie Ivey. Jamie has interviewed so many great women that I admire. From authors to entrepreneurs, she chats about life, spirituality, motherhood, inspiration, etc. I particularly love the Happy Half Hour where she asks them a list of great questions and I always find a new thing to look into. You can listen to that podcast here.

Last one. The Daily Liturgy podcast that is produced by our old church, Coram Deo. Lately I find it SO hard to spend a decent amount of time in the Word. This short, daily podcast is combined of scripture readings and prayers and liturgy. I love to put it on while I’m getting ready in the morning. Find it here.

Currently: Reading

I don’t have a ton of time to read, but I’ve been trying to be disciplined in the evenings to turn off the computer and open a book when I’m in bed. I recently started Francine River’s A Lineage of Grace: Five Stories of Unlikely Women Who Changed Eternity. I used to scoff at cheesy Christian fiction books, but Francine Rivers proved me wrong. I don’t read many fiction books, but I fall in love with every book that I read of hers. This one is quickly becoming a favorite, as well. You can find it here.

Currently: Wearing

I can’t even talk to you about clothing right now. Maternity winter clothing is the most depressing, ugly subject and I haven’t made peace with it yet. Moving on.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

I have never made self-care a big priority in my life. Once I started having kids, that became even more true. However, after three kids and many brutal winters, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not leaving Nebraska any time soon and I need to figure out how to thrive through this season. Self care plays a huge role in that. I get down in the dumps easily this time of year. It’s dark and cold and my skin is dry and pale and it’s easy to fall into a slump. I’ve decided to make self care a priority this year by paying extra attention to my skin, taking the extra time to do my hair and makeup (on most days) and forcing myself to get to the gym or yoga studio. I’m even going to put together a basket of pampering items for my bathroom where I can lock the door a few nights a week and create my own little spa. These are a few of my favorite products right now:

img_0948

(1) Rosemary Mint candle from Target (2) Glossier cleanser (3) Nars orgasm illuminator (4) Arbonne lipgloss-Anise (5) Arbonne CC Cream

Currently: Spinning

I don’t have half as much of the time that I used to have as a teen to find new music, but every now and then I’ll come across something new (to me) that I love and, of course, I have to share. I heard of Kacy & Clayton a while back and instantly fell in love with their retro sound. She reminds me of a folk singer from the 60’s so obviously I’m destined to love it. You can find all of their music on Spotify. This song is a favorite:

Ryan Adams released a new single for his upcoming album today and I just love it. It’s a bit edgy and abrasive, but his new album is inspired by his divorce to Mandy Moore (still sad) so it’s not surprising.

I think that’s it for now! I hear two children fighting in the backroom so I suppose I should go take care of that. Until next time!

J.

